Have you heard that there may be gluten in your lipstick?  What?  I know!  Imagine how much you could ingest every day just from having it on your lips!  I’ve mostly used Estee Lauder’s brand of lipsticks and have been very happy with them (except when they discontinue a color I like!)  I’ve been seeing more and more about lipsticks containing gluten and so I went on a search for the ingredients of Estee Lauder lipsticks.

So I sent Estee Lauder an email requesting a response with a list of what their lipsticks contain – which of the common allergens they contain.  It took a while but I finally received an email.  Here’s a breakdown of what they sent me:

All Day Lipstick does NOT contain gluten

Double Wear Stay in Place Lipstick contains Soy and Corn

Pure Color Long Lasting Lipstick contains Soy and Corn

Pure Color Vivid Shine Lipstick contains Wheat, Barley, Soy, and Corn – Has GLUTEN!

Pure Color Sensuous Rouge LipColor contains Soy

Pure Color Lipstick contains Soy and Corn

Pure Color Crystal Lipstick contains Soy and Corn

Signature Hydra Lipstick contains Wheat and Barley – Has GLUTEN!

————————————————————————————-

Phew – I use the All Day color lipsticks – no gluten there!  But I also discovered Red Apple Lipsticks at the GF Expo this year in San Francisco and have been buying them too!  All good ingredients and no gluten.  Check them out at redapplelipstick.com – they sell many different colors!

5 Comments on Is gluten in your lipstick?

  1. sharad Garg says:

    I want to know, is lipstick have any type of gluten, if have then, i want to know about the type or list of lipsticks.

    • Shelley says:

      I have only investigated Estee Lauder lipstick – but, yes, there are a lot of lipsticks that contain gluten. I use redapplelipstick.com for my gluten free lipstick! Try it out – it’s fabulous!

  2. Laura says:

    Thank you! This was VERY helpful.

  3. Cathy says:

    Does pure color lstick that comes with the bonus contain gluten

    • Shelley says:

      Estee Lauder states the following and you would need to validate which one comes in the bonus package … see below:
      Pure Color Long Lasting Lipstick contains Soy and Corn
      Pure Color Vivid Shine Lipstick contains Wheat, Barley, Soy, and Corn – Has GLUTEN!\
      Pure Color Sensuous Rouge LipColor contains Soy
      Pure Color Lipstick contains Soy and Corn
      Pure Color Crystal Lipstick contains Soy and Corn

Leave a Reply

*